#### PERMIAN BASIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

## **MINUTES**

April 17, 2024

# **BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING**

The Board of Directors of the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission held its monthly meeting Monday, April 17, 2024, at 1:30 p.m. at the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission at 2910 LaForce Blvd, Midland, TX 79706.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:**

Steve Eggleston, proxy for Flora Braly, City of Andrews Mayor

Mark Savell, proxy for Sam Jones, Andrews County Judge

Foy O'Brien, Dawson County Judge

Denise Swanner, City of Odessa Council (videoconference)

Joe Hurt, Sandhills SWCD

Cindy Therwhanger, Gaines County Judge

Randy Johnson, Howard County Judge

Skeet Jones, Loving County Judge

Bryan Cox, Martin County Judge

Sally Poteet, City of Stanton Mayor (videoconference)

Terry Johnson, Midland County Judge (videoconference)

Lori Blong, City of Midland Mayor

Leo M. Hung, Reeves County Judge

Dale Carruthers, Terrell County Judge (videoconference)

Greg Holly, Ward County Judge

Charles Wolf, Winkler County Judge

Ken Hankins proxy for Senator Kevin Sparks

Blake Vineyard proxy for Senator Ted Cruz (videoconference)

Joel Riedel proxy for Senator John Cornyn (videoconference)

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT WERE:**

Shane Walker, Borden County Judge

Roy Hodges, Crane County Judge

Dustin Fawcett, Ector County Judge

Billy Reynolds, Glasscock County Judge

Joe Shuster, Pecos County Judge

John Davis, City of Balmorhea Mayor

Dusty Kilgore, Upton County Judge

## PBRPC STAFF PRESENT:

PBRPC Staff: Virginia Belew – Executive Director, Alma Montes – Area Agency on Aging Director, Miranda Boler – Regional Services Director, Dana Hill – Criminal Justice Homeland Security Director, Abel Gamez – GIS Manager, Patricia Rosales – Homeland Security Planner, B. John McDaniel – Permian Basin Regional Radio System Manager, Lesli Flores – Accountant, Porfirio Herrera – Accounting Technician, Cathe Henderson – Executive Assistant/HR Manager

# **GUESTS PRESENT:**

Timothy Fuentes, Stephanie Heffner – ETCOG, Jed Kitzman – T&M Line Locators, Brandon Jennings – T&M Line Locators/Texas 811

## **Meeting Notes:**

Reeves County Judge, Leo Hung called meeting to order at 1:31 pm and established a quorum.

Motion was made by Judge Foy O'Brien, seconded by Judge Bryan Cox approving minutes of the previous meeting held March 18, 2024.

Motion was made by Judge Charles Wolf, seconded by Judge Cindy Therwhanger approving the Criminal Justice Advisory Committee's priorities for Criminal Justice Projects, Violence Against Women Projects, and Victims of Crime Act and School Truancy Applications for FY 2025.

# Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-30

Motion was made by Judge Charles Wolf, seconded by Judge Greg Holly to approve the Executive Director to enter into an Interlocal Agreement between Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission and Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) for the expansion of the Regional Radio Interoperability System Expansion Project. **Motion carried unanimously.**Resolution 2024-31

Presentation was given by Brandon Jennings, T&M Line Locators regarding 811. Motion was made by Judge Charles Wolf, seconded by Joe Hurt recognizing April 2024 as National Safe Digging Month. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-32** 

Motion was made by Judge Charles Wolf, seconded by Joe Hurt recognizing April 2024 as Fair Housing Act Month. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-33** 

Motion was made by Joe Hurt, seconded by Mark Savell approving the Executive Director to apply for the U.S. Department of Transportation, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) Technical Assistance Grant for FY 2024-2025. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-34** 

Staff report was given regarding Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Services, Howard County 9-1-1 Communication District activity.

Motion was made by Judge Bryan Cox, seconded by Judge Cindy Therwhanger to appoint Foy O'Brien, Dawson County Judge to serve on the Texas Association of Regional Councils (TARC) Board of Directors, filling the position previously held by the Honorable Joe Shuster. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-35** 

Update was heard from PBRPC Board – Finance Director Hiring Committee regarding Chief Finance Officer position. Motion was made by Judge Foy O'Brien, seconded by Joe Hurt to fill PBRPC Finance Director position. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-36** 

# MINUTES April 17, 2024 PAGE 3

Motion made by Judge Cindy Therwhanger, seconded by Judge Foy O'Brien for approval of the Finance Report for previous month(s). **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-37** 

Next meeting to be set for Wednesday, May 15, 2024.

Motion was made by Judge Bryan Cox, seconded by Judge Charles Wolf to adjourn at 2:51 pm. **Motion carried unanimously.**